Tag Archives: Album


produced by Motel XXX, BK Brown, E M P T, DAILON, muramic & Dpat

untitled (10)

Nocturnal on Audiomack | Soundcloud
new visuals for “Water” at youtube.com/watch?v=2Lx3bONUS04
Twitter [@camporbell] | Tumblr

18-year-old New York rapper Orrin presents his new album Nocturnal featuring production from Motel XXX, BK Brown, E M P T, DAILON, muramic and Dpat. Orrin named his first release Sean Mulligan, after his girlfriend’s little brother who inspired him to take rap seriously after hearing him freestyle for fun. His early material was, in his words, “Like boom bap rap. Like Brooklyn rap.” Moving to the suburbs changed all that. “I feel like me being in the suburbs, and being bored, helped me to experiment,” he explains, “and that’s kinda how I found this sound I have now.” Orrin describes Nocturnal as “my interpretation of the night and it’s influence on the creation process. ‘Nocturnal’ describes a relationship which never reaches culmination. In ‘Shark Fin’ I meet said female and she hard to grasp, similar to water. ‘Blue Lights’ describes a moment where I see this female yet again at a party, but through the commotion we don’t communicate, merely observe. On ‘Rain’ I pantomime, describing myself to the female. This female doesn’t drink or smoke, and so in ‘Warp’ I question the female’s perspective; saying she hasn’t seen life through a certain kaleidoscope because she hasn’t opened herself up to those experiences. ‘Deeper’ describes an intimate scene with this female. I begin to lose sleep over this female on ‘Counting Sheep’ imagining her in my world. In ‘Blue Dream’ I awake to reality. ‘Sinking Atlantis’ mirrors this desolation. ‘Water’ is the acceptance of my fate.” Orrin has released Nocturnal in conjunction with new visuals in support of his single “Water” (view here).


at undersoundmusic.bandcamp.com/album/baltimore-bruin
UnderSoundMusic.net | Facebook | Twitter [@etothemajor]

Baltimore-bred, Los Angeles-based emcee E Major presents Baltimore Bruin, his new album featuring Marc Evan, King’s Khrysis, Kaimbr, UllNevaNo, Rome Cee and Kane Mayfield as well as original production from Rexamillion, August Flight Gordon, Khrysis, Roddy Rod, IllMeasured, Minus Nine, Eddie Pearson and Sham Dibiase. E’s album Better Than Yours had already made Baltimore City Paper’s top ten albums of 2011 – two years after dubbing his Majority Rules album “a classic” – by the time his hit “Paper Runnin’” started doing the rounds on 92Q, later remixed by local legend DJ Booman. Wielding common-sense lyricism and a relaxed, persistent flow which presides on equal footing over boom-bap and trap alike, E’s shared stages with Lupe Fiasco, Wale, and Little Brother and has gotten the nod from Okayplayer, MTV, VH1 and DJ Booth. Three videos from the project have already been released: “Outrageous” (watch here), “Feature Presentation” (watch here) and “Zodiac Freestyle” (watch here). “I started Baltimore Bruin when I was in Baltimore and about to move to L.A.,” says E. “With the move and life events, this album took me longer than any other album I’ve done before. Because of that the sound of the album moves between classic, boom bap Hip Hop and the chilled out, spacy vibe I get from being in L.A.” Baltimore Bruin is available now on E’s Bandcamp page.

Author: James Dunn


Big Sean featuring Lil Wayne & Jhené Aiko – Beware

His third single for the LP “Beware,” features Lil Wayne and Jhené Aiko. The auto-tuned melodies of the single speak of the heartbreak inflicted by infidelity. G.O.O.D. Music brings you a “cruel summer” this year in three parts. First, Kanye West released Yeezus on June 18. Next, Pusha T will deliver My Name Is My Name on July 16. Then, Big Sean will bring the cruelness to a close with Hall of Fame on August 27.

XXYYXX – Pay Attention


Fresh off of a European tour, XXYYXX delivers new music. The new song, titled “Pay Attention,” premiered via his soundcloud today with the words “Off of the new album” in the description. No word yet on when his forth-coming sophomore album is set to release, but the replay-value of “Pay Attention” is sure to buy the 17-year-old producer some time until listeners start demanding further information.


“Forbidden Fruit,” J.Cole featuring Kendrick Lamar Born Sinner LP

A lot of discussion was created when Kendrick’s name appeared on the album’s tracklist, being that Cole stated that he wouldn’t have any rap features included on his sophomore album, and holding true to his word, Lamar provides vocal work on the song’s chorus. Check out the track down below and be sure to place your pre-orders for Born Sinner now by clicking here.

Audio here

J. Cole Hosts Silent Disco Listening Party for ‘Born Sinner’


Mac Miller Unveils the Cover for ‘Watching Movies With Sound Off’

Mac Miller shares the official artwork for his sophomore album Watching Movies With the Sound Off , which is due to release June 18. Mac also will kickoff The Space Migration tour with Earl Sweatshirt, Action Bronson, Chance the Rapper and more on June 25. Find the dates here.



New Music: Ta-Ku – Boom

Ta-ku is currently prepping his forthcoming debut album Dowhatyoulove, which is due mid-June. As an early teaser the Australian producer gifts the fierce tune “Boom.”

Heavy bass and oriental sample elements, offering a versatile set. Pre-order the vinyl edition of the album here. Track below.