Magna Carta…Holy Grail – The Samples

Gianni Lee:

The goal of our “The Samples” series is to educate. I want people to be able to connect with music on a personal level. In order to achieve that, we must familiarize ourselves on the art and process behind the music and how it is manifested.

Gianni Lee of Babylon Cartel and Mike Blud return with another exploration of soundscape — Magna Carta…Holy Grail – The Samples. The eclectic list indicates the extensive music research by Jay-Z and the contributing producers for Hov’s latest release as the sample list includes tunes by Sizzla, Johnny Guitar Watson, Adrian Younge, Nirvana, Mase, R.E.M., Gonjasufi and many more. In addition, the duo has prepped another mix that features the original samples of Jay’s hit songs — ranging from today to all the way back to Reasonable Doubt.

Magna Carta…Holy Grail – The Samples

1. Holy Grail Commercial Intro
2. Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit (Holy Grail)
3. Adrian Younge – Sirens (Picasso BabY)
4. Johnny Guitar Watson – Gangster Of Love (Somewhereinamerica)
5. Sizzla – Solid As A Rock (Crown)
6. R.E.M. – Losing My Religion (Heaven)
7. Adrian Younge – Reverie (Heaven)
8. A Tribe Called Quest – Sucka Nigga (Versus)
9. One Way – Believe In Me (Part II On The Run)
10. Mase – Feel So Good (BBC)
11. The Notorious B.I.G. – My Downfall (Jay Z Blue)
12. Gonjasufi – Nikels and Dimes (Nickels and Dime)
13. M.I.A. – Bad Girls (Tom Ford)
14. Holy Grail Commercial Outro

The Essential Jay-Z – The Samples

1. ——————————
2. Luther Vandross – Take You Out (Excuse Me Miss)
3. Lyn Collins – Think (About It) (Otis)
4. Marcus Miller – Much Too Much (Can’t Knock The Hustle)
5. Meli’sa Morgan – Fool’s Paradise (Can’t Knock The Hustle)
6. Menahan Street Band – Make The Road By Walking (Roc Boys)
7. Rene & Angela – I’ll Be Good (I’ll Be)
8. Rene & Angela – Imaginary Playmates (Imaginary Players)
9. Rick James – Give It To Me Baby (Give It 2 Me)
10. Rick James – Super Freak (Kingdom Come)
11. Steve Arrington’s Hall Of Fame – Weak At The Knees (Money Ain’t A Thing)
12. The Jones Girls – You Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else (The City Is Mine)
13. The Friends Of Distinction – And I Love Him (Maybach Music)
14. Stanley Clarke – Got To Find My Own Place (Lyrical Exercise)


K-Popper girl group 2NE1 have just released their new single & visual for ‘’Falling In Love’’ that’s already hit 1.5 million views in less than 24 hours. The video steers away from the group’s usual “fierceness” to a more laid-back reggae styled cut idea for the summer. With the cancellation of Inkigayo, 2NE1′s comeback stage will be on M!Countdown on July 11, watch above.

▶ iTunes:
▶ eBay:
▶ YG-eshop:
▶ YG-eshop (China):

For More Information @
App Store:
Google Play:

Mayer Hawthorne – “Crime” ft. Kendrick Lamar


Mayer Hawthorne – “Crime” ft. Kendrick Lamar

With just over a week to go before the release of Mayer Hawthorne’s anticipated third studio album, Where Does This Door Go, NPR will be streaming the entire album leading up to its release on July 16th.

Mayer Hawthorne Flips the Script on New Album ‘Where Does This Door Go’

Read Article
Follow us: @rollingstone on Twitter | RollingStone on Facebook



stream/purchase the mp3 at

Stereo Boyz on Facebook | Twitter [@thestereoboyz] |

“Behind The Mic” is the new video from German producer iGadget featuring Edo G and the Stereo Boyz. During their tour stop in Berlin, Germany the Stereo Boyz recorded their vocals as well as video scenes for this collabo with Edo G and iGadget (Beatevolution). The video was shot both in Berlin and Detroit. While the scenes recorded in Germany show Edo G and the Stereo Boyz in the studio as well as in the city of Berlin, you will also see shots of Downtown Detroit and the Stereo Boyz’ lab. “Behind The Mic” will appear on iGadgets album, expected to be released this fall.

Author: James Dunn